Thursday, September 25, 2014

Facing The Music by Andrea Laurence Book Club Thursday for September 25th, 2014

It's time for another week Book Club Thursday. This week we are going for something a little fun and light-hearted. What does a girl do when her high-school sweetheart breaks her heart? She writes a song about him and becomes famous. That's the premise of this weeks story, Facing The Music by Andrea Laurence.



20736280

Rosewood, Book #1
Available in e-book format now!


Blurb

In this sizzling and hilarious contemporary e-book romance, pop sensation Ivy Hudson returns to her small town to face her ex. Only trouble is, she made her Taylor-Swift-like career with the hit song “Size Matters”—and the football hero has had to live it down ever since.

Five years ago, high school sweethearts Ivy and Blake’s relationship imploded and both their lives were changed forever. Ivy became a rock star and Blake lost not only his dreams of a successful NFL career, but his reputation. Ivy’s angry song about their breakup, called “Size Matters,” hit the top of the charts and Blake became a national laughingstock. He’s salvaged his career and returned to Rosewood to be the high school football coach, regaining his status as town hero and leading the boys to the state championships.

When a tornado whips through town and destroys the high school gymnasium and stadium, a committee is formed to help rebuild and plan some charity fundraisers. Blake’s grandmother requests that Ivy return to Rosewood for the events. Forced back together for the good of their hometown and their careers, Ivy and Blake have no choice but to put aside their differences, stop running from their pasts, and finally face the music.

For fans of Kristen Proby and Colette Auclair, Facing the Music hits a perfect balance between small-town romance and big-time success. Follow Ivy and Blake as they fall back in love and figure out what does matter in the end…

My review:

Facing The Music is a second chance story between Ivy and Blake, former high-school sweethearts whose romance didn't make it through the college years. Distance, youth, impatience and temptation blew up their relationship leaving broken- hearted Ivy angry, Taylor Swift style. Golden Boy Blake Chamberlain suffered humiliation as her Pop song Size Matters took off with the naughty minded public misreading what the song was about and a football injury changing his career plans.
Fate has Ivy returning to her hometown, Rosewood in Alabama. Her manager wants her to recharge her career after a string of songs about ex's and sales are down as the public tires of the same old, same old. A tornado blew through town, destroying part of the high school and a few of the residents including Blake's grandmother ( a very wise woman), hope she will return to help with find-raising to rebuild.
I enjoyed watching the reunion of Ivy and Blake take place layer by layer. Of course at first, their is anger, bitterness and hurt and they sounded like kids when they fought. Then, they are reluctantly maneuvered into spending a lot of time together for the fund raisers. Then there is a truce of sorts, and finally their rekindling chemistry makes them take a chance on what might be. Their is a lot of humor and sexy banter between the two former lovers.
I really liked that Ivy hadn't acted like an L. A. Diva when she returned and most of the town welcomed her home, which surprised her. Blake is now coaching football at the high-school successfully and was loved still by the town. And as they spend time together reconnecting, you see them think more about their past and accepting where they are now and where they can go into the future.
     The only thing I didn't care for was the stereotype cartoon character called Lydia. Once Ivy's best friend, the wealthier Lydia became a bitter shrew and mean girl during their teen years, jealous because Ivy was just as popular as she was and Ivy had Blake, too. Now as an adult, she doesn't want to take no for an answer when Blake doesn't want to date her anymore. She's even willing to hurt innocent people in order to hurt Ivy and sabotage her time with Blake. I know Lydia was bringing conflict to the story, but I to me, characters like Lydia are a dime a dozen.
Otherwise, I enjoyed many of the towns people like Blake's brothers and an old friend Pepper. The story was cute and light-hearted fun and I liked it for the most part. And yes, I would  like to read another Rosewood book.


I hope that you enjoyed this weeks review. I am going to now visit my fellow BCT member's blogs to see what they thought of the story. How about you? Let us know your comments for Facing The Music.

Born to Read Books-Cyndi
Romancing the Readers-Ann

Don't forget to stop by next week October 2, 2014 when our topic will be: Is Paranormal Dead?


I was given an ARC of this story by NetGalley for an honest review.




2 comments: