Friday, August 22, 2014

Review for On Sunset Beach by Mariah Stewart.





On Sunset Beach
by author Mariah Stewart
Book #8 Chesapeake Diaries
Paperback and e-book edition Available Now
Published by Ballantine Books


Blurb:

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a captivating and heartwarming new novel in her beloved Chesapeake Diaries contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Barbara Freethy, Robyn Carr, and Susan Mallery.

Carly Summit’s name couldn’t be more fitting, since in life she always lands on top. She grew up wealthy and privileged in a tony Connecticut town, opened her own gallery in New York City, and is about to make art world history displaying previously unknown works by a prominent twentieth-century painter. No wonder she possesses a can-do attitude that can’t be soured. Ford Sinclair is another story. A military career in war-torn Africa, where he witnessed unspeakable violence and suffering, has left him haunted and deeply cynical. Now he’s looking for a way to forget and a place to belong. He hopes to find both back home in St. Dennis.

When Carly is forced to move the premiere of her new exhibition from Manhattan to St. Dennis, and Ford agrees to take charge of the town’s only newspaper, the two cross paths. But it’s hardly the start of a beautiful friendship. While Ford can’t ignore her charms, Carly’s unflappable good cheer only confounds him. Yet beneath Ford’s stormy brooding, Carly sees a man worth caring about—even if her warmest ways can’t thaw his frozen heart. But when a scandal suddenly threatens to destroy Carly’s career, Ford finds himself fighting hard for her—and falling for her even harder.

My Review:

This is a wonderful read for a summer afternoon. This is one of my favorite contemporary series and this story does not disappoint. At last, Grace Sinclair's son Ford has returned home to St. Dennis after years in the military. He meets the effervescent Carly at his welcome home party as she almost falls looking at a painting. She is in town to research some paintings her friend Ellie found in the attic of the house she recently inherited since she owns and operates a couple of art gallerys. Their meeting is brief, they don't even know each others names, but a small spark was ignited.
This book is different from most books in the series and moves at a gentler pace. The romance is a little subtler. Ford has seen much violence while he was gone and now spends a lot of time alone while he struggles to find home, even surrounded by his family and friends. When Grace falls ill, he knows that he has to help his mother out. And one of those things deals with the art that Carly is responsible for. Big-city Carly is intrigued by Ford and they end up spending a lot of time together and they both find home in each other. This is another sweet addition to this wonderful series.


Buy Links:

B & N
Amazon
Kobo




I would like to thank the publishers at Ballantine Books and NetGalley for letting me read the ARC for On Sunset Beach in exchange for an honest review.

1 comment:

  1. This has to be hands down one of my favorite book of hers. I loved it!

    ReplyDelete